Autograf: The British Library London (GB-Lbl), Sign. RPS MS. 329 ff. 18-19

Dr Spohr

July 29th 1847.


I am requested by the Directors of the Philharmonic Society to express to you the extreme satisfaction they experience in obtaining your promise to write a new Symphony agree to the terms you mention, namely „The Symphony to be the sole property of the Philharmonic Society during the next season (1848), and not to be performed anywhere else without the consent of the Society, for which they agree to pay you Twenty Pounds Sterling – After the Season 1848 the Copyright of the Symphony is again to become yours, the Philharmonic Society undertaking not to print any portion of it.“
I am also requested by the Directors to ask you if you will kindly undertake to get the following Orchestral Parts copied in Germany, and forward them with the Score.
8 1st Violins 7 2nd Violins
6 Tenors 3 Violoncellos
3 Violoncellos and Double Basses
4 Double Basses
The 1st and 2nd Wind Instruments to be copied together1

May I request you to oblige me with an answer stating whether you will do the Society the favour to have the Orchestral Parts copied for them as above, the cost of which shall be remitted to you with the perviously named serve for the Symphony – In reply to that portion of your letter to Mr Blagrove which refers to Mr Bott I am desired to say that when the Directors enter into arrangements for the Concerts they will take into consideration your proposal relative to this Gentleman -
Thanking you in the name of the Directors for the promtitude with which you have met their wishes, I have the honour t be – Sir – Your Obed. Serv. Wbudd Secrt.

Autor(en): Budd, George
Philharmonic Society
Adressat(en): Spohr, Louis
Erwähnte Personen:
Erwähnte Kompositionen: Spohr, Louis : Sinfonien, op. 137
Erwähnte Orte:
Erwähnte Institutionen:


Der letzte erhaltene Brief aus Spohrs Korrespondenz mit der Philharmonic Society ist Watts an Spohr, 23.02.1847. Spohr beantwortete diesen Brief am 23.12.1847.

[1] Hier als Beispiel zwei mit einer geschweiften Klammer zusammengebundene leere Notensysteme.

Kommentar und Verschlagwortung, soweit in den Anmerkungen nicht anders angegeben: Karl Traugott Goldbach (26.05.2020).